Wallcourt Hall

This May, Wallcourt Hall joined the Inns of Aurora as its fourth boutique hotel. From preparatory school to MacKenzie-Childs studio, Wallcourt Hall has lived a full, varied life since its construction in the heart of Aurora in 1909. Now, after a multi-million dollar restoration, this gem features 17 guestrooms in striking style, with Italian fabrics and exceptional original art.

reserve now button

Wallcourt Hall was built in 1909 as a dormitory for Miss Goldsmith’s School for Girls, a well-respected preparatory school run by Anna Goldsmith Taylor. Founded by Sarah Yawger in 1885, the school had its home in what is now called Taylor House, across the street from the Aurora Inn. Under Anna’s stewardship, the school thrived and soon needed additional housing. For this purpose she built Wallcourt Hall (whose name comes from the brick-walled vineyard that originally stood in its place) next to Taylor House. After Anna’s death in 1921, her diplomat stepson Myron gifted both buildings to Wells College.

Wallcourt Summer Ad

Anna Goldsmith also ran a popular summer program at Wallcourt for women attending Smith, Wellesley, Mt. Holyoke, Vassar, and the like.

Wallcourt Hall served as a dormitory for Wells College students until 1974, and, for a brief time, as a studio for MacKenzie-Childs, maker of distinctive and whimsical tableware and home décor. By 2014, Wallcourt Hall had been abandoned and vacant for several decades, slowly slipping back into nature’s grasp. Now, after an extensive restoration and renovation, Wallcourt Hall joins the Inns of Aurora as its fourth boutique hotel — ready for another century of guests.

Like the other Inns of Aurora, Wallcourt Hall features designer details like custom-made furniture, original modern art, and hand-painted bathrooms, seamlessly blending style and comfort. Luxurious touches include Frette sheets, spa-quality bath amenities, complimentary wireless internet, high-definition televisions, Bluetooth stereos, organic coffee, and access to the Cayuga Lake via the Aurora Inn, with its kayaks and canoes.

Many thanks to Dr. Linda Schwab, Historian for the Village of Aurora, for her research and presentation on the history of Taylor House and Wallcourt Hall.